Skip to content

Forget-me-not, despite my changing outfit! A tribute to the International Fascination of Plants Day (May 18th 2013)

I shot some pattern pictures out on Swiss fields during these (rainy) days, my favorite being this intense blue forget-me-not flowers (click it to download a full version).In this wide-angle view there is only one flower on focus, can you find it? artborghi - forget me not small

What I love in this view are the flower stages of development: a kind of same-same but different. From purple to blue-and-yellow to blue-and-white, as summarized in the table below. This change is due to a pH shift in the cells of petals.

artborghi - forget me not - stages of development

Do you wanna learn more on plants? Enjoy one of the several initiatives organized for the International Fascination of Plants Day (May 18th 2013)

Posted by Lorenzo Borghi on May 17, 2013
7 Comments Post a comment
  1. 05/17/2013

    Love this little flowers. To be given to our better half! Thanks.

    Reply
    • 05/17/2013

      Indeed. I thought this flower name had something to do with love, but the oldest folklore legend about it sounds quite different: “In a German legend, God named all the plants when a tiny unnamed one cried out, “Forget-me-not, O Lord!” God replied, “That shall be your name.”

      Reply
  2. 05/18/2013

    Your photographs are gorgeous. Would like to share some of your work and a bit about you on my blog. It’s devoted to culture – art, film, photography, poetry,music, writing, the inspiration of nature and protecting the environment, etc.

    Regardless, I’m always fascinated by nature and the beauty of flowers, and had no idea there was an International Fascination with Plants Day. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • 05/19/2013

      Dear Windy thank you very much, sure I am glad sharing my work with you. I think the easiest way is to reblog the content you like on your blog, let me know if you have other ideas.

      Reply
      • 05/20/2013

        Hi Lorenzo,
        Yes, it would be easier just to re-blog a post, but I enjoy creating stories about artists (a bit of their background) and highlighting a few samples of their work, which tie into the story with links to their site or blog for others to check out the rest of their work. If this appeals to you, perhaps I could feature you on my blog at some point, as I create tailor-made pieces, rather than aggregate other peoples’ content.
        Regardless, thanks for the connection and for stopping by to respond. :-)

      • 05/21/2013

        Dear Windy, sure I appreciate your kind offer! Please let me know how can I help you creating the story. It sounds very interesting, much more than just re-blogging.

      • 05/22/2013

        Thanks, Lorenzo. I sent you a Twitter invite. I don’t tweet much, but we can exchange contact info, etc. through direct messaging and when I get a chance, I will take a more thorough view of your site and familiarize myself with your work. Then, begin to prepare a rough draft (preview post) that you can review, give input, and approve before publishing.

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

Pavlos Ζikos Photography

Personal Photography Portfolio

Leap

let's jump into the deep end! a travel (but mostly food) blog.

Amanda Sabga Photo

Life as I see it / Boston based photojouranlist

Michael fotografiert

... der Weg zum Meister

Photo avant-garde

Photography at a different level

Palestine Rose

I wish you Peace and Joy

Windybee's Blog

Everyone knows it's Windy

The Luminist Edge

photographs by Leslie Liszak

mvschulze

Stream of Thought observations, images, and more

Alexandra's blog

the three dots...

MakeUpArtistNT

Визажист Евгения Белоглазова

Out-of-Focus Photography

Bringing memories to light...

Idiomatic@

“It is good to have an end to journey toward, but it is the journey that matters in the end.” ― Ursula K. Le Guin

Brianna DeJoy

a little insight, a little buffalo, and a little expression

Victoria's Secret Blog

My travels, pictures and ramblings...

Erlend Aaby - photography

Hope is a waking dream - Aristotle

PassionArtLove

The Best Things In Life Are Made From These.....

six degrees photography

capturing the world, one frame at a time

Tylko fotografia

czyli kilka słów i przemyśleń z fotografią w tle

EdMooneyPhotography

Kildare based Photographer Edward Mooney

the Thought Palette

sharing my creative journey with you

Mike McMurray's Forest Photography

Forest and scenic photography blog

Alien Heartbeat

Listening for the Alien Heartbeat

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

אסף יוסף מיכאלי

דברים שרציתי לומר

miojocamara

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Sara Rosso's mobile photoblog

For more about me, visit www.SaraRosso.com

MOTION Photography

Images that will take your breath away!

weird & cool stuff seen while out & about

a travel blog featuring images of Colorado and beyond, with an emphasis on nature

Milad Maymay Photography

Travel and Photography

APRATIM SAHA

Photography

Fotografija

Aistė Aukštuolytė

Ben31photos

Site photos de Benoît Monié

vincenzo fumetta

El azar de un objetivo errante

draw and shoot

Shooting photographs, drawing lines...

Tienny

Freelance Conceptual Artist | Character Designer | Illustrator | Animator | Inker

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

El Bueno, El Feo y El Malo

Capturing the good, the bad and the ugly of lesser-known Spain.

kak eko

LOOKING FORWARD

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 511 other followers

